Anorexia Workbook- off your but

“I could go out with my friends, but I am self-conscious about my body.”

The word “but” undoes everything before it, leaving the statement:
“I am self-conscious about my body.”

Try replacing the “but” with “and”
“I could go out with friends, and I am self-conscious about my body.”

Re-wording this thought allows you to go out while still feeling self-conscious.

I really like this book. It’s less frustrating than the last one. The flow is perfectly logical. Every time I start to think a question, the answer is there in the next line. The authors state repeatedly that they are aiming to change anorexic behavior, not thoughts or feelings- which feels safe to me. It puts recovery within reach, even if the thoughts/feelings never go away. I was overwhelmed believing that I’d have to vanquish those before I could begin to alter the behavior.

20130103-050648.jpg

Leave a Reply

