Paying attention

I am paying attention to myself.

I had planned to take all 3 classes today, to get ready for Advanced Class (!) starting next week. You have to be able to take back to back beginners classes before getting to go to Advanced. I can, and have, just wanted to do it a few more times before the big day!

Buuuuuuut. I hate mornings. I hate waking up. And I am not a big fan of practicing early in the day.

I didn’t want to practice yesterday, but forced myself to go in and stuck the whole class out. After the warm up, I still didn’t want to be there. At the end of the standing series, spine strengthening series, at the end of class I just wasn’t feeling it. And, my lets were hurting.

Last night after class, I swung into GNC and picked up this:

20130112-074410.jpg

Yeah. The anorexic yoga chick bought weight gainer. AND drank some. AND really needs to buy a blender ball, because chunks are gross! Otherwise it wasn’t too horrible. I slept like a freaking rock, like I’ve never slept before. This morning, I feel huge! Like I weigh 158743 pounds. But my muscles feel more recovered than normal. I think it’s not the worst thing in the world. I know that I need fuel to practice.

And right now. I still don’t want to! Two in a row with my innards throwing a tantrum about this yoga that I love so passionately? Something is off. I’m listening to my body and going back to bed.

2 thoughts on “Paying attention

  1. Hi,

    I was giving this a little thought, and seeing as how you are trying to build up your weight, I was wondering if you had considered weight training a few times per week? I mean, it’s all well and good trying to use the powders and eating junk foods and all, but the issue (if I understand correctly from your blog) is how you can add enough to your body’s essential fat layers to be self sustaining, while building muscle to give your body the support it will need in order to handle some of the more difficult postures in your yoga, which require a little muscle otherwise you risk straining your tendons – which could be an explanation for why you come away from a session hurting rather than invigorated. So in other words, getting yourself into a more athletic shape. If this is the case, training with weights will help you to maximise the use of protein supplements without falling into the trap of eating too many “fattening” foods as am means to add weight, and if you add tone to your muscles you will put on the weight you want and your body should in theory take care of itself in terms of essential fat stores. And don’t worry about getting too heavily muscled, because you’ll be aiming to get stronger, and strong women rock, right?! 😉

    Just something to think about, and good luck with your recovery… although I think you’ll have that beat just by having chosen to do something about it. 😉

    • That is great advise! I just finished my first Advanced Class and will definitely be adding some strength training starting immediately! I right now, weight training isn’t a feasible option, I am already working full time and putting in around 20 hours of studio time every week. We went over tons of, posture specific, strengthening exercises this afternoon, and were told to pick 3 to focus on at home for the week. This way we are also careful to build long, lean, yoga muscles instead of bulging Hulk muscles that could impede flexibility.

Leave a Reply

