Green- and some other random thoughts

On the plane ride home, the woman across the aisle from me got on carting a box just like this one.

20130306-211516.jpg
And my very first instinct was to ask to try a piece.

Which is TOTALLY out of character for me, considering; I hate food, and don’t talk to strangers, or eat in front of people. But for some strange reason I REALLLLLY wanted that popcorn. So I stared at it. The seats were slightly staggered, so I was just behind her. She couldn’t really see me.

The woman at the entire box by herself. She did it really fast, without reading the label, counting out a single serving, lining the pieces up, arranging, or otherwise playing with her food. She didn’t record it in her phone, intentionally pause and/or clean her hands between bites.

She just ate, one piece at a time, hand moving box to mouth almost non-stop until it was completely finished. Then she sucked and licked each of her fingers clean and fell asleep.

It was fascinating to watch and definitely made me green… I’m just not sure if it was envy or disgust.

If I didn’t have an eating disorder, I think I might like to do that…. Once.

But I do. And today, I was not very successful in The Rules department… Unless 455 could be considered almost 800. Maybe tomorrow.

10 thoughts on “Green- and some other random thoughts

  1. This was so interesting for me to read, being on the other side of this disorder. I wonder if this was a once in a while thing for this woman, or if it was something that helped her sleep. Or something she didn’t even really enjoy once it was over.

    I just wanted to tell you you’ve really inspired my yoga practice in a great way. Reading how Bikram is such a huge part of your life makes me want to be more dedicated. I’m glad I found your blog.

    • I’m glad I found yours too!!!
      I can do lots of things for my yoga, that I wouldn’t do for myself.
      I can’t wait to read about the day you finally decide to give Bikram a try.

  2. This, “She did it really fast, without reading the label, counting out a single serving, lining the pieces up, arranging, or otherwise playing with her food,” makes total sense to me. By that I mean I have been in the position of counting out a single serving, lining up the pieces, etc…. šŸ™‚

  3. I know exactly that feeling all too well. It’s an overwhelming sense of sadness and hopelessness to realize that there is something separating you from everybody else, but the people around you don’t understand how or why. You coined the experience perfectly!(:

Leave a Reply

