What a day!!!!

My mom, and my brother, TT, came up to visit today!!! My mom wanted me to teach her how to eat… Don’t worry, I think it’s hilarious too- how to eat like your anorexic child 101.

She brought me lots if stuff from home, including the silly, ugly ice bucket that has been handed down for several generations by the women in her family, the dishes that I grew up using, that my dad picked out, and a bunch of pans and utensils and stuff.

I introduced them to Big Lots and Whole Foods, which was pretty entertaining. She got me a house warming Ninja blender, and took me grocery shopping.

Then we went back to my place to cook. I had planned to make the avocado pancakes I tried last month, but didn’t have a frying pan. I tried in the bottom of a small pot, but couldn’t flip them. So mom says, “it’s ok. Just turn it into soufflé.” And set off googling how to convert my pancake batter.

The whole time we were shopping she kept carrying on about how she doesn’t do protein powder anything. She also asked multiple times if I was sure about adding spinach, avocado and banana to pancakes, because it sounded gross.

20130428-224816.jpg
This is our spinach, avocado, banana pancake-soufflé

…That I didn’t even get to try! They both loved it and either devoured the entire thing, or brought it home with them… I’m not really sure what happened to it after I took the picture. But I did wash the empty bowl.

They finished my left over potato chip eggplant from yesterday, while I made mashed rutabaga, because I love it so much and really wanted them to try it. They liked that too and took two jars home with them.

Next, we made gluten free polenta lasagna in jars! These were fun, adorable and delicious! They each ate one jar for dinner and took a jar home. It was their first time trying polenta. My mom said she world be making that again… But not in jars, because they needed bigger servings, lol.

20130428-225857.jpg
They came out super cute!

While we were shopping, my mom said something about key lime cheesecake, and I told her I’d come across a recipe for raw, vegan, gluten free, mason jar key lime cheesecake- which ironically contained neither cheese, nor cake. She said she wanted to try that too. I explained that raw, and vegan “cheesecake” would probably not much resemble her idea of cheesecake… But she said she still wanted to try.

They had both been taking turns helping me, relaxing, and playing with the inversion table.

20130428-230546.jpg

But I’d been cooking the whole time and was exhausted. So I put my brother in charge of the cheesecake. Now, you should know, that this boy asked if a person really needed both measuring cups and measuring spoons, and what made them different, earlier in this afternoon.

20130428-231032.jpg

I held the iPad and he did the work.

20130428-231130.jpg

We ran out of jars, so these went in cupcake molds instead. They came out very green!

I think we were all surprised how good they were t

20130428-231402.jpg
We made a huge mess!

And I am exhausted!

Having company while I was cooking made it more fun, less stressful and much easier to deal with.

PS- I also solved my trivia problem!

20130428-231616.jpg
Pseudo bento box, all the little compartments without all the rice and art and stuff. I will have plenty of safe foods to play with, sort, rearrange and move around, without being overwhelmed by any one thing. Plus, it’s kind of popular and hip right now… Lot’s of people are doing it. So I’ll be cool instead of crazy. It’s all so cute and colorful… I might even be a tiny bit excited to use it.

PPS- I just realized I cooked a ton but ate exactly nothing today… Whoopsie.

One thought on “What a day!!!!

  1. I’m glad you had such a good day with your family!!!!
    And I love your box heaps!
    hope tomorrow you remember to eat something 😛 The pope needs his health!

Leave a Reply

