How about we just be sweet, k?

Lately, I’ve gotten quite a few negative and/or condescending comments regarding my ventures in gluten free eating. They’ve all been deleted.

But I have a few thoughts.

1- I’m a human. We connect, love and support each other… Or at least we should. I don’t need a medical diagnosis myself, to alter my diet in support of my cousin. Didn’t Kelly Pickler just shave her head in support of a friend going through chemo? She wasn’t pretending to have cancer, just supporting someone who did. I know a man whose granddaughter was born deaf. He made a rule that every person in the family would learn ASL, and any time that baby was in the room, they were to sign. Was he suggesting that the entire extended family become deaf? NO! He was showing his little granddaughter that she was an equal, a member of the family, and entitled to inclusion. That’s love. We do hard things that we otherwise might not have to, because we love the people close to us.

2- If I decide I prefer the way I feel, while eating gluten free… Who cares? Really. Does any one say to the vegan “please show me that you are lactose intolerant in your medical charts before eliminating dairy from your diet.” No. Because that’s ridiculous. You don’t have to be medically adverse to meat to become vegetarian. People try things, and if it works, feels good, produces positive results… They continue.

3- I have anorexia. I make up lots of odd rules. My relationship with food is rarely logical. If I am successfully eating this way… Who cares what kind of diagnosis I have? People with anorexia die. People with celiac disease learn to eat gluten free and become healthy. If I can find my way to healthy, by mimicking you, be flattered, not degrading.

I don’t really understand why I’m even having to write all this, but let’s just try to be nice to each other, ok?

Thanks

6 thoughts on “How about we just be sweet, k?

  1. I agree about hate comments. I come to the blogosphere when I need a dose of positivity–it’s more concentrated here than in the “real world”, I find–or when I need a creative outlet, NOT to harp on other people or get chewed up by others.
    The problem is, I think a lot of people feel more comfortable sending not-so-nice stuff over the internet because the intimacy of face-to-face conversation has been removed. Still, no excuse! Life is really tough. We all need to support one another and be kind.

  2. When I asked for input about going gluten free on my FB page I got predominantly negative comments. Crazy that after just 2+ weeks of being gluten free I feel better than I have in years! People need to open their minds and their hearts to embrace and support others. For their similarities as well as their differences…

  3. Gets kinda weird what people complain about sometimes. Just keep doin your thing, Teenie. And as long as I’m here, I think I’ll say this… Your own kindness and caring is very much evident in your writings. You are doing fine, and you are setting a fine example. Carry on.

Leave a Reply

