Finally got inspired…

I made stuffed poblano pepper in a jar. I cut a fresh poblano pepper in to 4 big flat pieces, put a little polenta in each one and set it aside to firm up. I put some salsa in the bottom of a wide mouth 16oz jar, then carefully, without spilling put in the biggest piece of pepper, sprinkled taco seasoning, black beans and Teese. Then kept layering like that with the rest of the pepper pieces put it in the oven a while, at the very end I topped the jar with daiya and put it under the broiler. It didn’t turn brown… I’m not sure if that’s because it’s really tapioca or I was just tired and done waiting.

I think the 16oz jar ended up being too big. I won’t be able to eat all of that at once. Next time, I’d use two 8oz wide mouth jars.

20130515-004512.jpg

That’s how that works out- I entered it as two jars.

20130515-010605.jpg

What good are stuffed peppers without fresh pico de gallo??

20130515-004655.jpg

The rainbow chard that I couldn’t figure out what to do with….???

20130515-004842.jpg

Color coded “sandwich” wraps!

Red = Italian

20130515-005001.jpg
Polenta, Italian seasoning, nutritional yeast, yellow baby tomatoes, scallions and daiya, with tomato sauce on the side.

Yellow = Burrito

20130515-005214.jpg
Black beans, sweet peppers, carrots, onions, yellow baby tomatoes,and quinoa with taco seasoning (added post photo).

Orange = fennel??

20130515-005531.jpg
Pear, fennel, sweet peppers, quinoa- with 1/2 tsp coconut oil just to seep it from being too sticky.

… I don’t really know about this one. *shrug* we’ll see.

Right now they are in the freezer, I want to try to cut them down to fit in tall 16oz jars- like one of each for a fun variety. That will probably be too much, actually.

I should stop putting stuff in the big jars. I never finish it.

One thought on “Finally got inspired…

Leave a Reply

