JARS!!!

Oh. My. Gosh!!!
Who wants to see the amazing week I’m about to have!?!?!?! I’m sooo flipping excited about everything! I can’t wait for every day this week so I can EAT! My cousin said “Whoa! Who are you! And what did you do to T-Yo?” I said “I AM Teenie! You should be worried about MV!” Good riddance! I say! Buh-Bye!

I didn’t cry in the grocery store!

I was picking up some carrots and got intrigued.

20130602-201802.jpg
What’s a parsnip?!?!?

Time for another food challenge! Into the buggy they went! What a little unsung wonder too! They are taproots, like carrots but much sweeter. They are an excellent source of fiber, antioxidants, anti-inflammatory, anti-fungal, and anti-cancer compounds. Multiple studies from the scientists at the University of Newcastle at Tyne found parsnip to offer protection from colon cancer specifically. **This is significant to me, as colon cancer killed my father well before his 40th birthday, and his father shortly after. In Europe parsnip is often used as a dessert ingredient due to its high natural sugar content.

After doing some reading up, I decided my parsnip would be a perfect way to get some veggies into my breakfast- which was one of my objectives for the week. I peeled and diced 2 parsnips and boiled until very soft, then I puréed in the ninja with 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and a cap full of vanilla extract to make an extremely sweet creamy sauce to use in place of the almond milk in my summer porridge.

20130602-203351.jpg
Flavors: parsnip/pumpkin/maple/vanilla, mango/papaya/pineapple/coconut, and strawberry/mandarin/honey
**I need to stop losing my jars so I can make more breakfasts at once! These are my favorite size/shape

Next, I decided to take on the carrot concoction, because I was most afraid of it… Holy cow!!! Can I just say, EAT THIS!!! I cut the leeks so they stayed in very thin circles, the carrot ribbons made long flowing loops, and the curly kale leaves created the most enticing combination of texture, this stuff is just plain FUN to look at! The flavoring/sauce is raisins, lemon, ginger and garlic sooo perfect and subtle yet flavorful. This is simply the most perfect combination ever.

20130602-204552.jpg
Btw- it’s excellent cold too.

This morning, I woke up feeling pretty brave and decided to give the Musli a try!

20130602-205002.jpg

I picked the #2 because it was the lowest calories (well, actually #22 was the same, but for half the serving size) plus it had berries! It was too crunchy to eat dry (remember I despise crunchy!) but it softened nicely in the almond milk and made for a great, filling breakfast. I could eat it for my snack at work and be ok! If you are afraid of Musli because you don’t know what it is- its like oatmeal and cereal and whatever mixed together. They are all numbered at Whole Foods, so it’s easy to pick one that is safe!

Next, I made the tempeh Alfredo, that Super Cuz dubbed “DJR (Dat Jus ‘Rong) Sauce” she is quite anti-vegan and totally not impressed with the creativity that goes into veganizing. K, but listen, “‘Rong” or not, this lil yogi I has been challenged to up her protein consumption by utilizing tempeh. So maybe it would help to view it as protein for sweaty girls instead of Alfredo. Call it whatever you want, this stuff is AMAZING! It took no more than 10 minutes to whip up in the blender! I steamed the tempeh to make it less bitter, and while it was on the stove I added everything else to the blender (i added shallot and leek to the recipe because I had them) and julienned this monstrous zucchini!

20130602-210915.jpg
Then I just added the tempeh, whirled it all up, tossed with the zucchini noodles and topped with fresh tomatoes and orange bell pepper!

20130602-212217.jpg

It was so good I even licked the bowl!
(This is most definitely against the rules!)

20130602-212705.jpg
Ignore my messy hair.

I had some cashews that I was tired of looking at and decided to make cashew butter… But my cashews wouldn’t butterize. After 40 minutes in the ninja I decided they were dud-nuts and dumped them.

The garlic bread was DELICIOUS! But did NOT hold together at all, and came out more like flat garlic bread dough. It was my first time cooking with “flax egg” and I likely need to refine the process a bit, we will revisit the garlic bread department soon.

I started to feel really exhausted and needed a snack to keep up with my cooking marathon. I decided to go for the granola, get it over with straight away, nice and early in the week.

Dude, I’m sorry. I just really hate granola. I tried it plain- too crunchy, so I mixed it in yogurt with fresh raspberries hoping it would soften… Not enough. I ate it. But don’t intend to make a habit of it.

Another item on the snack list is popcorn. Now, popcorn didn’t make it into the category of things I tried first/without drama, and it didn’t make it on to the high anxiety foods list. It’s just kind of there, existing somewhere in the middle…

I made cauliflower popcorn!

20130602-215058.jpg
I wonder if that will count???
In all fairness- I did say, from the get-go, that I am neither mean or deceitful, I am, however, quite anorexic and an exceptional loophole finder. It’s popcorn, right? This is soooo yummy too! I just tossed cauliflower with a tiny bit of olive oil, Italian seasoning, nutritional yeast and ground pepper, then roasted for 30. Perfect, cheesy, vegan popcorn!
*** judge rules… And it *IS* popcorn! (With a side note to stop worrying about calories. Lol)

PS- I did alllll this today with my hip so far out that I stayed in bed crying until after 4, and I had to crawl up the stairs after taking Avery potty. It’s clicking.

2 thoughts on “JARS!!!

  1. Jars are awesome. I’m addicted to buying Mason Jars of different sizes 🙂 I need to find the ones you have. The DJR should be Dat Jus Right haha I love your Alfredo and your picture of you licking the bowl convinced me.

Leave a Reply

