Enough

I always told my little girl “I love you enough”.

I love you enough to fill the whole ocean, and every crevice of the universe. I love you enough to trek to Sea World every weekend, and enough to make you go to school. I love you enough to cradle you in my arms, and sleep with you on the couch, safe from the dragons beneath your bed. I love you enough to understand that you had to poop in the toy box, because there were monsters in the toilet. I love you enough to help your mom, because she couldn’t help herself. I love you enough to be her stand in, without standing in her way. I love you enough to plan your parties, buy your gifts and sign her name. I love you enough to fight for you. I’d give you my last breath. I love you enough to save you, and enough to let you go.

I love you enough forever, which I hope you’ll someday know.

(For “The Baby”)
I wish I could have saved her mom.
Sometimes, the guilt is overwhelming. If I had made different choices. She might still be here.

Leave a Reply

